Complete LED Aquarium Kit 20

Product No. NV33144

Complete LED Aquarium Kit 55 is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 48.
  • y_2018, m_8, d_16, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_4261, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_tetrafish
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
LED Aquarium Kit includes the following:
  • Glass Aquarium. Built to last. Scratch Resistant. Made in the USA. Lifetime warranty on 20G, 29G and 55G aquarium glass tanks.
  • LED Hoods. Energy saving LEDs that create a natural shimmer effect. No bulbs to replace. Saves money and environmentally-conscious. Low-profile, black hood design for sleek appearance. Feeding hole. Hinges for easy access during maintenance.
  • Whisper® Filtration System. Multi-Density Floss removes particles. Activated Carbon eliminates odors, discoloration and toxins. Bio-Foam® removes toxic ammonia and nitrates. Contains the Whisper® 20.
  • Aquarium Heater & Thermometer. Maintains water temperature. Essential for tropical fishkeeping.
  • Fish Net
  • Product Samples: TetraMin® tropical fish food and AquaSafe® water conditioner
  • Set up and care guides

This product comes in the following sizes: 20 gallon (24" x 12" x 16")
Aquariums are fun, relaxing, rewarding, therapeutic and educational. As manufacturers and fishkeepers ourselves, we take great pride in making top quality products while helping educate our fellow fishkeepers to ensure they are successful, and their fish are healthy and happy. The general rule for tank size is one inch of fish per gallon. However other factors should be considered, such as:
  • How large will the fish be as an adult?
  • Is it species that is active and needs larger space? Or is it a solitary fish?
  • Is it a schooling fish that needs to be in groups of five or more?
  • Is it a fish that produces a lot of waste?
  • Is it a species that is aggressive, does best with others of the same species type, or is it a more peaceful type that would be a good fit in a community tank?
Small aquariums are a great way to get started in the freshwater hobby, and with any new hobby involving living creatures, it is always best to learn as much as you can. And when buying fish, ask your retailer for guidance in choosing the right fish for your size aquarium.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK for one betta.. I bought the glofish 1. 5 gallon cube for my beta.. I also think it should com with a heater I have the regular floating starts kit too says ha storage and filter I different than on on the box.. Only difference in them is color of the light...and price wish u sold smaller heaters...
Date published: 2017-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Customer satisfaction I bought a 29 gallon kit with the LED hood two years ago. The LED's went out about a month ago, so I sent an email to Tetra's Tech Support to see where I could buy a new seven light LED string. The Customer Relations Rep. (Laura S.) I dealt with said that there were none available for purchase at that time. The next day, I received an email informing me that a complementary set would arrive at my home in 7-10 business days. They came, and are in use. I had long thought that customer service had gone the way of the 8 track, and TV's with dials. This certainly is not the case with Tetra, and they will be getting all my aquarium needs business. I will also consider other Spectrum Brands - Pet Home & Garden Division products when needed. THANK YOU!! It's nice to see a company that still cares about customer satisfaction after the sale.
Date published: 2017-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This had everything I was looking for Easy to set up and the equipment worked great. I especially like the lighted hood, and my fish loves the new soace
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from tetra 20 gallon led kit This is a great little kit. I've been into aquariums for 15 years. I haven't had one in 3 years. My kids wanted one so I purchased the 20 gallon kit. The led lighting is pretty good. The only complaint I have is the filter it comes with sucks. I will be upgrading this weekend. With 2 sword fish 6 guppies and two mollies the filter doesn't seem to do a great job. It is a great value for the beginner though.
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 10 Gal GLOFISH Tank Kit Wonderful starter kit. Glass tank was as expected. The top was made of plastic but that was expected for the price and being a kit. When I opened the box, I followed the easy instructions to set up. The only tip I would add is based on the blue/white lights cord length.... put the BLUE lights in the CENTER with the WHITE lights on each SIDE. Because the filter is right there, water does hit the lights but they are sealed and so far have not been a problem. Depending on the salesperson, they may or may not have experience on GLOFISH so I suggest you do some research in advance. I understand the Green sometime get aggressive so it is best to school at a minimum of 3 to 5. I sttarted with 3 to get my tank established after waiting for 2.5 days. Then in a week I added two more fish. The best glo'ers are the yellow and green in my opinion although I now have one of each tetras. Per their suggestion,, I plan to get a catfish for bottom clean up. My goal for my 10 gal tank will be 12 to 15 fish.
Date published: 2015-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good aquarium!! I really like this aquarium! it not expensive for the biz size ( 20 gal.) and it work properly!
Date published: 2015-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TECH SUPPORT I BOUGHT MY 10 GALLON TANK ABOUT A YEAR AND A HALF AGO AND RECENTLY, 2 OF THE 3 LED LIGHTS IN THE COVER FAILED. I CHECKED AROUND AT STORES TRYING TO FIND A REPLACEMENT BUT WAS UNABLE TO. THERE WERE NO OTHER OPTIONS OTHER THAN BUYING A NEW TANK (JUST FOR THE LED LIGHTS) AND I FINALLY CONTACTED TETRA AND ASKED THEM WHAT OPTIONS I HAD. I WAS CONTACTED BY LAURA BRADLEY, A CONSUMER RELATIONS SPECIALIST, AND WAS INFORMED THAT A NEW UNIT WAS ON IT'S WAY. I RECEIVED THE NEW UNIT JUST THE OTHER DAY AND MY TANK IS ALL BACK TO NORMAL AGAIN. I WAS VERY PLEASED AT WHICH MY ISSUE WAS ADDRESSED AND CORRECTED AND WILL HIGHLY RECOMMEND THEIR PRODUCTS.
Date published: 2015-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is a great fish tank for its size, good size for home aquarium. I find or I feel the power motor is very very noise considering to its size. I went to the store where I bought the fish tank, but I did not hear such a noise despite to a larger size of fish tanks and many of them were running at the same time. In addition, none of fish tank that was running similar to mine. Take a listen at the video from You Tube. https://youtu.be/ZDbqRJbdu1Q
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from JUNK!!!!!! the leds are cheap, half of the set of led died and took forever to get a replacement. I bought this tank just over a year ago last aug 11 and just yesterday aug 30 the following year. so just after the warranty runs out the seals let go and the tank started to leak. Ive been in the hobby for over 15 years and none of my tanks have ever leaked, even the one im running now is old, who knows how old and not a drop, i know its at least 10 years my tank has been running.there product are just just good enough to make it just passed the warranty
Date published: 2015-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 29 Gallon Kit I was weary of buying this brand because people told me it was a cheaper brand. So instead I purchased a different brand because people said it worked better. First day the tank leaked so I exchanged it and got the 29 Gallon Tetra brand tank. So far no leaks a better filter than the competitor and overall I am happy with all the Tetra products I purchased with the in box coupons. I had that tank cycled in 5 days with a lot of healthy bacteria. I would recommend this brand and make sure you check the tank and follow the instructions.
Date published: 2015-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great customer Service After a month and a half of purchasing this tank - the propeller in my filter stopped working. Without question or proof of purchase, they sent me a replacement filter system. Within the past week, my LED lights on the hood stopped working after owning the tank for 9 months. I again called their customer service number listed below, and they are sending me a replacement LED strip, no questions asked, and just asked that I pay shipping to return the strip! I'm very happy with their customer service and would purchase from this company again, as well as recommend it to others.
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from kit has everything except the fish I bought the 10 gallon kit a year ago and haven't had any issues with it. I poured some rocks on the bottom and suck them up when doing my 25% water changes, every other month. Make sure the water has a few days of circulating before adding fish so the good bacteria can establish on the filter. The LED lights are very bright and are unaffected when dropped in the water. Pump is quiet.
Date published: 2015-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wonderful investment! In November 2013 we purchased a 55 gal tank kit with the flat hoods that have led light strips and all the stuff you need to set up a tank. All you need to do is add fish. We have enjoyed how easy it is to keep this tank looking nice. In Dec 2014, one of the lighting strips grew very dim and that side of the tank was dark. I called Tetra customer service to find out where I could buy a replacement for this led strip. They replaced both strips under the warranty. Amazing customer service!
Date published: 2015-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a company! I got a tank set up for Christmas last year from my kids. The set up included the Tetra LED hood. About a month ago the lights started to fail. I e-mailed the company but after two weeks and another unanswered email, I called the customer service number and I got to speak to an actual person who was friendly and very helpful! She told me about a problem with the LED's and that until they could fix it they would not sell replacements. She then asked for my information and mailing address and said a replacement would arrive in 5-7 business days! What company does this now a days? This one! They stand behind their product and are willing to admit when there is a problem and then find a solution until the problem can be fixed! They have a fan for life!!!
Date published: 2014-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great! But... This is a good solid aquarium but... There are several flaws with this "kit". I hesitate to call it a kit because the debranded generic version of this they sell at Walmart, which comes with a Tetra filter, Tetra samples, and a Tetra care guide comes as well as the aquarium and a cheap LED lid. The first flaw is that the filter is NOT powerful enough and since it is an internal filter, it displaces quite a bit of water. Lucky I had an Aqueon HOB internal and self priming pump filter powerful enough for at least 20 gallons. The second flaw is that the plastic trim and lid are VERY soft and easy to scratch. I put a nick in the top molding during setup (Just rotated the tank and I am more careful). The one I got did not come with a heater or thermometer, (which I already had) must be that I got it at Walmart debranded and generic packaged. If you are looking for a 20 galleon tank kit, this (or the older version with the bulb hood) is about all you can get for less than $100. I would recommend this tank to anyone as long as they are aware they need a heater (or check the heater if it comes with one) and they'd need a HOB filter rated for 20+ gallons. All in all, a good solid tank, not so much a solid kit.
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from junk This kit is complete and total garbage! The filter that comes with the kit is a 30 gallon and it needs at the very least a 40-60 gallon filter if your going to have more than 4 fish in it. Not enough to keep the water clean! way under sized for the Aquarium. The heater is a piece of junk. Only had it a few days and have to replace it. so I spent a $100 some odd dollars on kit that came with everything. And I have to turn around and buy a larger filter system and a new heater! If you want a aquarium don't buy a kit. Buy everything separate and make sure your getting some thing good for your money!
Date published: 2014-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Major leaking. Bought a ten gal tank today because I'm down sizing from a 29 gal. At first the tank was holding up. Then I noticed some dripping, then when I called my parents down to help me, the tank started to create a waterfall. It ruined my bookshelf and I'm super upset. My carpet is all wet but I did like the filter. It was super quiet. But I think tetra needs to work on the making sure the tank doesn't leak. The whole point of the tank is to keep water IN it.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Tank and Its the Best in the Business I love this tank so much the Filter and heater are great and it comes with everything you need
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality We purchased two 10 gal LED kits. The filters do a very poor job, even leaving a film on the top of the water. One heater quit after only 4 months. One tank sprung a leak today (less than a year old). Very disappointed with the quality. We have owned aquariums for over 20 yrs. Currently we own two 10 gal, a 29 gal, a 7 gal orb, and a 280 gal.
Date published: 2013-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tetra LED Aquarium Kit Pros: Nice product. Cons: Cannot find replacement led lights anywhere.
Date published: 2013-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best tank i have ever bought but one problem My tank looks beautiful especially with those leds. i think it lights up the aquarium perfect. My one problem is the flow of the filter, it will throw my fish around when they swim around it. But, its perfect.
Date published: 2013-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall, the best product I could find at the most affordable price! I actually own 2 tetra aquarium kits, and I must say that I am absolutely pleased with both. I own a 10 gal and a 5gal. After shopping around at the big name pet stores, I did conclude that this is one of the best (if no the best) quality aquariums for its price. Most starter kits no matter how big or small are extremely expensive. This one comes with just about everything you need to start off an aquarium - and yes, while there are definitely better quality aquariums out there, for someone looking for just a hobby or someone on a budget, it can't be matched (trust me, I've looked.) I have also had issues with the regular light bulbs on a lot of the higher end aquarium kits in the past. After getting sick of them and switching over to the LED ones, I assure you I will never go back! They work great and make the tank look much better than the traditional bulb. I also have no signs of scratching on my tanks - despite me carrying them to and from the bathtub to fill it up initially. I am very pleased with both my aquariums and my good experience with this brand is turning my hobby of enjoying fish into one in which I want to breed them now. I'm definitely getting another one for the future and I'm thinking a 55 gallon next!
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought @ Walmart 29.99 They are selling an older model without the LED lights. The tank is excellent. Mine was built 25 days before I bought it. I had to replace the pump, no problem with that at all. I have a beautiful all natural tank with a few too many fish. I learned thanks to help at my fish store aout m/f ratios and how important it is to check about every fish. They are little devils, both the boys and girls. I thought I was a killer, but alas the boys were killing each other over too few females in the tank. That is how I ended up with three extra girls. Don't do what I did, get the ratio correct from the start. Have fun, I am.
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 10 gallon aquarium Got one for Christmas! The fish are very happy in it. Aqua safe is so easy and convenient to clean the new tap water you put in the tank. I would recommend this to anyone who is responsible and willing to take care of fish!
Date published: 2013-03-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 20 gallon starter kit - the Hood is REALLY cheap Bought a 20 gallon starter kit for my son. Originally took home the unit with the LED lights. The hood is extremely cheap and flimsy. The LED lights snap onto the roof. There is also only a little hole on the front to drop fish food. LUCKY that the pump actually failed after 1 day and the temperature strip was missing so I actually returned the whole kit. The only one that they had remaining was a florescent light version. This kit had a much studier hood. There is glass pane where the florescent light housing sits on top of. In addition, the lid contains a door (across the entire length of the front) which allows access to the water for feeding and cleaning. So if you had a choice my preference, get the unit with the florescent light fixture.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ehhhhh! Bought the Deluxe (LED) Kit @ Petco because it was on sale for under $40. I only needed the tank and lighting because I use a sponge filter for the Killifish. I figured this way it was cheaper to buy the kit rather than a tank and lighting seperately. THAT was my first mistake. The only thing these LED lights are good for is making the tank a bit brighter than the darkness. They do NOT provide enough light for any plant other than plastic. I have some of the hardiest low maintenance plants and they are struggling. The lighting does no wonders for the colors of my fish either. I used a flourescent hood from another tank for comparison and guess what? The colors of my killifish pop right out at you. IN essence I spent $40 for nothing more than a 10 gallon tank and a packet of fish food. Lesson Learned. If you want a tank with nothing but Plastic Plants and you have Silver and Black Fish then this Set UP is adequate. If you expect anything more, you will be disappointed.
Date published: 2013-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Two 10 gallon tank kits We bought two of these 10 gallon tank kits. Having never owned any fish except a betta before, we followed all instructions from PetCo sales person and the enclosed instructions to the letter. We haven't had any issues with leaks - I think either you have a tank fully sealed, or you don't. The kit came with everything except a fish scooper (net), extension tubes for the filter, gravel, fish and any plant/decorations you want for the tank. We set it up in this order: Tank poster on back of tank, washed gravel, thermometer, heater, lid #with light#, filter, add water with 5ml de-chlorinator. We let the water sit about 24 hours till the heater had warmed up the tank. Then we added plants #live# and decorations. And finally the fish. This would have been 5 stars except for the fact that one of the 2 attachments that attach the lid to the tank broke during install - very flimsy so be gentle. Also, the tank is called tetra tank #which are tiny fish#, but there is no extension tube packed in with, so the filter tube doesn't reach to the bottom of the tank. We only learnt this was important with tiny danois fish because one got stuck up the tube and perished. Tips for first timer: If you're putting a background poster on the back of the tank - do this before installing filter. Put the temperature strip before filling tank with water. In case you miss the sticker at the bottom of the tank - the top of the tank with the side with "notches" on the corners is the BACK side where the lid hinges. When you get the fish, put the plastic bag with fish as is, floating on the top of the tank for about 20 minutes. The temp in bag will equalize with that of tank. Then don't pour out the fish and water, but instead scoop out the fish and put into water. Fill filter chamber with tank water before turning on filter. The kit has coupon for buying fish at a discount.
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great little tank... I got the 10 gallon tank for X-mas. It was very easy to set up and is really relatively quiet. Of course in a quiet room you can definately hear the filter operating, but it is easily drowned out by other sounds like music, TV, etc. I got the model with the tiny LED lights which I find mildly disappointing. There are pro's to the lights, as they are very low profile and make for a compact, streamlined looking tank and perhaps they are more energy efficient. But with the placement of the 3 small banks of lights my tank seems kind of shadow-y and dim, which is not helped by my choice of dark colored gravel and background. I think more lights (like 5-6 banks) may be helpful for future models. All-in-all, its a great little tank for the price and very easy to maintain.
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from moderately impressed. i have bought the 10 gallon starter kit. im pretty impressed but i think there are a few things that could be improved . first.) i think you should get at least 2 filters to change. 2.) i think that we could use a trial size bottel (mabye a 1 ounce bottel) of water conditioner. but besides that im very impressed with my aquarium.
Date published: 2012-10-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from loud filter my filter is so loud and being in my room i cant sleep with it on iam disappointed in this because it seemed like a great product before i set it up
Date published: 2012-08-01
  • y_2018, m_8, d_16, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_4261, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_tetrafish
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT