HT Submersible Heaters

Product No. 26447

HT Submersible Heaters is rated 2.2 out of 5 by 87.
  • y_2018, m_5, d_22, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_87
  • loc_en_US, sid_26447, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_tetrafish
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 20ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Tetra's HT line of heaters are easy-to-use and work in aquariums ranging from 2 to 55 gallons. The heaters have electronic thermostats that automatically adjust heat output to keep water at a constant 78 degrees F. All HT heaters have indicator lights to let you know when the heater is on, heating the aquarium.

All Tetra HT heaters have red/green indicator lights to let you know when the heater is heating(red) or on standby(green). The low voltage thermostat maintains water at 78°F without any adjustment required. Be sure purchase the correct heater for your tank size. Buying a heater too small for your tank can cause under heating. It is critical to ensure your tank is equipped with a hood or glass canopy to contain the heat inside the aquarium. All Tetra HT Heaters will shut off if an electrical short is detected for your safety.

This product comes in the following sizes:
HT10 (50 watt) - 2-10 gal
HT30 (100 watt) - 10-30 gal
HT40 (150 watt) - 30-40 gal
HT55 (200 watt) - 40-55 gal
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Customer Service I have had an aquarium for 5 years. And a little over 2 years ago, I got into the hobby of aquascaping (5 gallons and 65 gallons). The heater in my 65 gallon tank is over a decade old and it is working just fine. The 50 watt heater I purchased 2.5 years ago (HT10) was not working properly. I saw 1/4 of my 5 gallon tank's water evaporated in less than 1 week time. I quickly did temperature check and it was in the mid 90 degrees F. Thankfully none of my inhabitants died. I did a quick water change to cool down the water and cleaned the heater just so that there was no buildup around the temperature sensors. I put it back in the aquarium and monitored the temperature for the next 3 hours. It passed 85 degree mark and I unplugged it. I bought this through Amazon 2 years and 6 months ago so I had the receipt. I decided to still contact Tetra to let them know the issue and see if they can help me troubleshoot the problem. Just today, I got a mysterious box in the mail and it was HT10 from Tetra. I never thought they were going to honor the warranty as it was past the 2 year mark. I already bought another brand heater, but I will keep this as a back up heater. Thank you Tetra. Maybe the heater I had was from a bad batch. Hope this one will last a long time. When it comes to electrical and mechanical equipment, some will last long and some will fail quickly, but what the company does for their customer really sets a company apart from others. I trully think that Tetra cares alot for their customers. If I were to give honest rating just for the heater; it will be 2 stars. However because of their exceptional customer service (replacing an item that is past the warranty period), I gave them extra 2 more stars.
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hasnt warmed up the tank yet. I bought it a couple days ago and the water is still room temperature (slightly chilled since it’s a cold winter). It is submerged like it needs and plugged in. There is no reason for it to not work. The red light turned on for 30 seconds and has never been on green. It usually has no light on.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too hot I brought the heater for my 20 gal tank the first few days it worked perfectly now after two weeks I’ve had readings up to 82.6 and 82.3 now I have come home to a 83.8 tank luckily I came home to check it and turned it off
Date published: 2017-12-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dieing fish I had bought this heater not once my Twice I'm very disappointed with it, not only that but super freaken angry. This heater killed about $39 dollars worth of Mollies all young ones and two adults, the tank had gotten cold Dearing this time of winter, the heater kept turn on and off until it completely turned off, now thanks to that I had to empty out my fish tank of dead fish, this product doesn't help at all so much for my fish...
Date published: 2017-12-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Help? Hey, I bought this today and the heater's red indicator light keeps turning on and off? My thermometer says that the temperature's near 70 F and everything so it might be working? but I haven't gotten a green light. What should I do?
Date published: 2017-12-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DONT BUY I got one of these yesterday for my 10 Gallon Nano Reef tank, let it rest in the tank over night to adjust to the temp of the water (60-70F), plugged it in a few hours ago only to have it plugged in maybe 20-30 minutes when it shot apart so now my freshly set up saltwater tank smells like burnt rubber and the black granules in the heater is now in my tank...
Date published: 2017-12-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from One is great other is aweful I have several of the HT10 to heat a few of my smaller tanks and they honestly are a craps shoot. one or two do great with the tank keeping a consistent temperature right on the nose in the typical tropical fish zone of around 78 degrees but I have one or two more that just can't get the same size tanks up to the same temps. Even tried swapping to see if the set up was the variable.. Nope, heater just doesn't get up to temp even though it is turning the heating element on. Really disappointed since the others are performing so well.
Date published: 2017-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No problems after 3 years of use I bought this product 3 years ago and after being in storage for 2 months i put it back to use and it still works like a charm. It keeps the tank just below 80 F.
Date published: 2017-11-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Turned off one day and never came back on Worked well for about two months, just long enough for me to get comfortable. Then last week I'm feeding my betta and noticed the tank was at 73. Light was off on the heater and temp was the same as the water. Put it in a cup of cold water (46 degrees) and after 15 minutes the light was still out and the heater was cold to the touch, totally dead. It's a real shame too because up until this point I quite liked it.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this heater❤ I've had this heater for about a year and LOVE it! I have a 60gallon tank and use the 30 -60 gallon submersible heater. I haven't had to worry about the tank since using this heater. I've read other reviews about the red light not coming on...but the red light only turns on when the heater is heating the tank and turns off when the optimal temp is reached. It keeps my tank at perfect temp. I bought this at walmart and paid like $25... well worth it!
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible! I bought a tetra submersible heater 2-15 gallon for my 10 gallon, for my baby oscar and the red light never came on. I took it back and exchanged it for another. The 2nd one the light came on then just shut off. I unplugged it and plugged it back up, the light came back on for 2 min then shut off again. This is a huge inconvenience. I don't have time to send a product in and wait for a new one. My fish need a heater asap. Nor do I have time to keep running back and forth exchanging heaters to my local Wal-Mart. This is a bad product. And do not recommend to anyone! I definitely will be going with another brand of products for my fish.
Date published: 2017-11-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't even heat a 5 gallon I have this heater in a 5 gallon Tetra tank that I use as a sick/new fish introduction tank and it has been in the tank for a week now and it hasn't gotten over 69 degrees yet I have a AODE Digital LCD Thermometer that is very accurate that I have had on it the last 3 days and still hasn't hit 70 this is disappointing because now in the last month my Tetra 20 gallon kit I had for barely long enough to start to cycle and it came loose in the top right corner of the tank while my daughter was at her mom's house for a few weeks and ruined her night stand and several other things I have finally calmed down enough to even write about it. I have had such good luck in the past but now they are cheaply made.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect It's perfect for the price, it put the water to 25c and my tetra serpae are happy :D
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work The red light comes on for maybe a few minutes every couple of hours. Water is very cold, and my fish is sluggish. I've had a functioning heater before, and I know what 70 degree water feels like. This product doesn't work.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A little confused I got the Tetra 2.5 submersible heater for my fish tank . Light turned on 1 time 3 days after I plugged it up & never since that time . The water seems cold & my betta doesn't swim as much . Not sure if product defective or what . Any advice ??
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from sad these do not last very long. now temp is dropping to high 20's ad the no longer heats.
Date published: 2017-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Installs easily... convenient size Called Tetra toll-free line from WalMart. Sarah answered immediately, and assured me that this little heater would be appropriate. Just installed this in a very small 1.25 gallon tank for a betta. The water level is only 6.5 inches, but this little heater just fits nicely. We already had the water at 79 degrees, so the heater didn't kick in right away. When it did drop below 78 degrees,, you could easily see the blue light cycle on and off. We'll see how durable it is, but so far it's a nice fit for our needs and the price.
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It’s not great This thing won’t stay heating even if it’s below temperature. I think my fish are getting cold because they’re sluggish, and not as playful as they used to be
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work Bought a heater for my 10 gallon tank. After 36 hours of waiting for it to get to the correct temperature it was still under 60 degrees. I went back to the store and exchanged it for another one of the same kind. Ive waited another 36 hours and THIS one is not working either!
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It works. I have 2 turtles, and I brought one for the tank. I, also, thought it wasn't working. Didn't have a thermometer at hand. Instead, I secured the heater in my sink, filled it with "less than room temp" water, waited 15 minutes, and plugged it in. Got a red light. The product works, but is it accurate.
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wont turn on... I bought one just yesterday for my tropical fish. I set it up in the tank and plugged it in but it never turned on...the water feels kind of cold..i don't know if that means its as warm as it needs to be but im worried about my fish...one of them is mainly staying at the bottom of the tank and i don't know what it means....
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not good at all I bought this heater 4 days ago and it hasn't heated the tank at all! 3/6 of my fish are still alive! I set up the heater 2 days after I got the tank then after 24 hours(which the box says to wait so the heater can start working) I put the fish in but nothing happend. Very disappointed
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Heater Failure This is my third heater in 5 months due to heater failure.
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from absolute garbage great idea for a automatic temperature set heater but only if it remains working longer than a month! Lost my receipt so store wouldn't exchange and tetra will be of no help without it so I'm beat out of $30 I guess. Have a few tanks over many years and never, ever, had a heater die so I didn't think I'd need to keep the receipt.
Date published: 2017-08-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BROKE ON THE FIRST DAY?!?!??!?! I bought two of these for my 2 10 gallon tanks and they don't work, now my poor fish are going to have to be cold. One had the red light indicator on for a split second then immediately turned off and didn't even heat the water... I even tested it in other tanks and the 2nd one just didn't turn red at all and doesn't heat and can I just say the water in my tank was cold and the heater DIDN'T WORK. BIGGEST WASTE OF MONEY EVER. Too bad this bad heater is the only one Walmart sells, I live in a secluded town where Walmart is basically the only place unless I want to drive 1-2 just to get to the nearest pet store
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible heater I bought this two weeks ago for a baby turtle and it stopped heating after 20 minutes. Will never buy another tetra heater.
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst heater ever Never kept the temp stable and stopped working after two weeks. Worst purchase ever. Glad it didn't cook my fish at least
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken? I got the 10-30 gallon heater for my boyfriend for his 10 gallon, when we plugged it in the light didn't kick on at all and when it did the red light blinked red and then shut off again. I have one in my tank as well and the red and green light alternate like they should but the water is still cold and it's next to the filter to push the warm water around the tank.
Date published: 2017-07-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from only heats up to 73 or 74 i bought this heater 2 weeks ago and it only keeps the tempature at 73 or 74.. my house is 70-71.. is there a way to make it closer to 80
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job! Glad I didn't read these reviews before I purchased this at Walmart or I doubt I would have bought it! Great bang for your buck. Taking away one star only because of it's a little too thick for my 2.5 Top Fin aquarium, wish it was more slim & streamlined better with Johnny's (our betta) aquarium. But, for 15 bucks, it's well worth seeing him swim happily around his tank! He's most liveliest I've seen him in months! Thanks for making something affordable, Terra. Grad student: University Tennessee College of Law, Class of 2021
Date published: 2017-06-24
  • y_2018, m_5, d_22, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_87
  • loc_en_US, sid_26447, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_tetrafish
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 20ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT