HT Submersible Heaters

Product No. 26447

HT Submersible Heaters is rated 2.1 out of 5 by 94.
  • y_2018, m_8, d_15, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_94
  • loc_en_US, sid_26447, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_tetrafish
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 115ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Tetra's HT line of heaters are easy-to-use and work in aquariums ranging from 2 to 55 gallons. The heaters have electronic thermostats that automatically adjust heat output to keep water at a constant 78 degrees F. All HT heaters have indicator lights to let you know when the heater is on, heating the aquarium.

All Tetra HT heaters have red/green indicator lights to let you know when the heater is heating(red) or on standby(green). The low voltage thermostat maintains water at 78°F without any adjustment required. Be sure purchase the correct heater for your tank size. Buying a heater too small for your tank can cause under heating. It is critical to ensure your tank is equipped with a hood or glass canopy to contain the heat inside the aquarium. All Tetra HT Heaters will shut off if an electrical short is detected for your safety.


This product comes in the following sizes:
HT10 (50 watt) - 2-10 gal
HT30 (100 watt) - 10-30 gal
HT40 (150 watt) - 30-40 gal
HT55 (200 watt) - 40-55 gal
Rated 1 out of 5 by from absolute garbage great idea for a automatic temperature set heater but only if it remains working longer than a month! Lost my receipt so store wouldn't exchange and tetra will be of no help without it so I'm beat out of $30 I guess. Have a few tanks over many years and never, ever, had a heater die so I didn't think I'd need to keep the receipt.
Date published: 2017-08-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BROKE ON THE FIRST DAY?!?!??!?! I bought two of these for my 2 10 gallon tanks and they don't work, now my poor fish are going to have to be cold. One had the red light indicator on for a split second then immediately turned off and didn't even heat the water... I even tested it in other tanks and the 2nd one just didn't turn red at all and doesn't heat and can I just say the water in my tank was cold and the heater DIDN'T WORK. BIGGEST WASTE OF MONEY EVER. Too bad this bad heater is the only one Walmart sells, I live in a secluded town where Walmart is basically the only place unless I want to drive 1-2 just to get to the nearest pet store
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible heater I bought this two weeks ago for a baby turtle and it stopped heating after 20 minutes. Will never buy another tetra heater.
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst heater ever Never kept the temp stable and stopped working after two weeks. Worst purchase ever. Glad it didn't cook my fish at least
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken? I got the 10-30 gallon heater for my boyfriend for his 10 gallon, when we plugged it in the light didn't kick on at all and when it did the red light blinked red and then shut off again. I have one in my tank as well and the red and green light alternate like they should but the water is still cold and it's next to the filter to push the warm water around the tank.
Date published: 2017-07-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from only heats up to 73 or 74 i bought this heater 2 weeks ago and it only keeps the tempature at 73 or 74.. my house is 70-71.. is there a way to make it closer to 80
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job! Glad I didn't read these reviews before I purchased this at Walmart or I doubt I would have bought it! Great bang for your buck. Taking away one star only because of it's a little too thick for my 2.5 Top Fin aquarium, wish it was more slim & streamlined better with Johnny's (our betta) aquarium. But, for 15 bucks, it's well worth seeing him swim happily around his tank! He's most liveliest I've seen him in months! Thanks for making something affordable, Terra. Grad student: University Tennessee College of Law, Class of 2021
Date published: 2017-06-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Indicator light NOT working! I recently bought this heater for my 10 gallon fry tank and after letting it acclimate to the water temperature inside the tank for 15 minutes I plugged it in and waited for the indicator light to come on, it never did! I've had success with this heater in my 29 gallon aquarium, the indicator light works just fine it turns red when heating and green when not. So I don't know what's wrong?!
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work at all I've bought this heater twice now. The first one I bought works just fine and hasn't given any problems. Turns red when is heating and the light turns off or something when it's heated up, but the one I bought recently is a different story. I put it into the tank long before the fish were in there. I set it up according to directions, and after it was plugged in, the light turned red. I walked away for 5 minutes, came back, and the light was green. I let it go a little longer thinking it needed time to adjust, but it's been over 2 weeks now and the light is only red when I first plug it in then immediately turns green. The water is not heated at all, and now my fish are getting sick from the water being too cold.
Date published: 2017-06-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice while it lasted Purchased latest one Mar '16 and it just failed. Second or third time replacing these heaters (10 gal tank; ambient 70+) so I keep spares. Seems no way to "reset" thermostat, so green light in 60F water. Great heater when it works.
Date published: 2017-06-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Malfunctioned after only a month Bought the HT30 for my 20 gallon tank. After only a month, it stopped heating my aquarium water although the red indicator light was still displaying.
Date published: 2017-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well I am very happy with this heater. I have two 3.5 tanks and originally had another, slimmer heater in one. The temp shot up from 72 to 82 in 8 hrs! So I switched and this one keeps the temp steady at 80. It slowly brings the temp up ( or down) so the red light will come on and off while it is heating. I bought another one for the 2nd tank and now my betta are even more active! My only compliant is that it is pretty unsightly and bulky for a small tank. But I'd rather have one that works well than looks good!
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not even sure if it's working I bought this a few months ago for my 10 gallon and I didn't really think it was doing anything but I wanted to give it some time to see if it was doing it's job. Today when I was cleaning my tank I checked up on it and it's absolutely cold to the touch. The room it's in is a bit warmer than the rest of the house so I'm sure it isn't related to over working. I'm overall a little disappointed in this product's performance.
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Won't get above 70 I just bought this thermometer for a 1 gallon tank and it just keeps the temperature at 69/70 degrees. I returned the first one as I thought it was broken, but the 2nd one does the same thing. Can't blame it on a big tank, but I do keep my house pretty cool.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Light doesn't turn on Whyyyy?????? I know it is working but doesn't light on? Should I replace it? I do not want to fry my little fishes and read some reviews of overheating.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Heater does not work I bought this heater a few weeks ago at a local store and it does not keep the water at a constant temperature. The green light shows even when the water is way below the temperature what the heater is supposed to heat to and the water is way too cold. Because of this, my betta developed ick.
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed.. I purchased the Tetra 2-10 gal heater for my 10 gallon aquarium about 2 weeks ago from walmart. Stocked with 4 guppies and 2 mystery snails. All of which need warm water... the supposed "preset temp" of 78 is inaccurate. This heater is for a 2-10 gal tank.. min is 10.. so my water should be at 78 and it's barely above 70. I purchased a 10-30 gal tetra heater for my other 10 gal tank probably 7 months ago and it works like a charm. Keeps the water at 78.. that is why I am so disappointed...
Date published: 2017-03-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Light won't turn on Just bought it today at Walmart. Put togther the new tank and the light wont turn on red or green. Its been submerged for 5 hours now. Help . . . Anyone??
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't Last Heater performed as advertised for 6 months. Unfortunately, the heater stopped cycling and my small 5 gallon tank temp went south. I did not lose any of my cardinal tetras but had to replace the heater way too soon.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I'm still wondering I bought this a few hours ago and read the instructions, went online to see videos of people with the same problem but..they didn't explain it very well. The problem I'm haveing is when I submerge it (is laid mine down) I've let it sit for 30 min and plugged it in. The red light came on for i say a minute then shuts off. It does this for some time turningredients off and on. When I reach down to feel if it's getting warm it'seems warm but..the tank still cold my tanks a 2.5 gallon tank and the temperature is a little on twenty. I've made sure the thermometer works (it does). My fish I just bought today is a betta and I know they can SURVIVE without a heater but they don't THRIVE. I'm just worried if I let him acclimate he'll get cold and if I don't he'll stay in his still mall cup (yes, I put him in a clean one) a little help here? Thanks.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Consistent This heater does not keep my 3.5 gallon tank at a constant temperature of around 78 and now my Betta has ick! Will not buy this brand for future tanks...
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from didnt last i had this heater for less than a week and the light kept going red to green. then it cracked and stuff started coming out of the cracks.
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work I let the heater sit in the tank for 15 minutes before turning it on, but now it stays on for a bit before turning itself off (no light at all).
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not working at all i bought the tetra ht10 and since i have gotten it it has not worked. the green light stays on ALL the time! i have unplugged it and plugged it back in. when i clean my turtle tank i put the correct temp water in and when i go to clean it out again the water in cold. i have been having to clean the tank and change the water more frequently then needed because this heater is not working! i would not recommend this heater at all
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long lasting I have only had to purchase two heaters in the last seven years.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Failed after one year I bought this unit for a 10 gallon tank. Model number reads 01a36. Ambient temp 66, tank ran consistently around 74 for about a year. Upon changing my water today I noticed the temp was about 64 and the green light on the heater was on, indicating it was reading a higher temp. Unplugged and cleaned the unit, let it sit about an hour in my clean water bucket before putting it back in the tank and plugging back in. 15 minutes later and the light remains green, unit's temp reader has malfunctioned. There's currently a blizzard going on outside so I cannot go out to replace it, I really hope my fish survive the night. Do not buy this brand, this is not my first time having issues with tetra heaters but I hope to make it the last. Additionally I have a larger 100w heater set to 64 maintaining a temperature of 80, luckily the tank is for my Angel fish that like it hot because I can't turn it down further. Almost toasted the fish when I had it set to 78, found my tank the next morning at 86 and had to keep turning down until I maintained a reasonable(ish) temp
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from unreliable I've just had my 2nd heater, ht30, go bad. green light stays on, no red light indicating heater is heating water.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Starting to question reliability We've had an aquarium for 2.5 years and a are in the second heater for the larger tank. First one suddenly stopped heating. Tested it in a bucket and it never raised the temp. We also bought a heater for the smaller tank my son's fish is in. That heater just broke and cooked the poor fish to death over night! You'd think there would be a fail safe or something to prevent it from killing living creatures. Frankly, the tank now looks the sight of a horror movie and I'm left trying to explain to my 4-year-old why his beloved fish is dead. I'm now wary about the one in the larger tank and am most likely going to replace it ASAP even though it is only a few months old.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Grrr. Not heating up my tank!! I have purchased two heaters within the last week. The first one was for 5-15 gallon tanks. My fish tank was at 60 degrees yesterday morning. Brought it back. Got the next size up. Tank is up to only 66 after 24 hours. What gives here ? I have a ten gallon tank. What a waste of my time researching and driving 15 min each way to return these !!!
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100 watt HT and 150 watt HT We had just switched over to a 100 watt HT two months before our 29 gallon sprung a leak. In the 2 months we had the 100 watt running our 29 gallon hooded aquarium, it held the temp at a steady 77 deg in a home with 68 deg avg. We moved up to a 37 gallon and used the 100 watt another 2 weeks. It worked a bit harder, but did well. We upgraded to 150 watt yesterday and it immediately started cycling at 77 deg F. We are pleased with the HT product. As with any new heater we'll be closely monitoring the temp for a while and having a thermometer with high/low temperature alarm we know right away if there's a problem. The HT's are spot on. What an improvement over the heaters of yesteryear. Thanks Tetra!
Date published: 2016-09-30
  • y_2018, m_8, d_15, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_94
  • loc_en_US, sid_26447, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_tetrafish
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 20ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT