EasyStrips 6-in-1 Aquarium Test Strips

Product No. 77358

EasyStrips™ 6-in-1 Aquarium Test Strips is rated 2.2 out of 5 by 24.
  • y_2018, m_8, d_15, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_19542, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_tetrafish
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 105ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Keep your tank healthy. Maintaining a healthy, safe aquarium environment for your fish is important, and regularly testing your water levels in the aquarium is critical to success. EasyStrips™ are a perfect solution. By quickly testing for all water quality issues in your aquarium water, EasyStrips provide accurate results with minimal effort, and have the most advanced technology in water testing because they're designed from the same medical and scientific laboratory technology. A healthy aquatic environment starts with clean water, so be sure to use EasyStrips to promote a vibrant aquarium.

6-in-1 EasyStrips™

Tetra® 6-in-1 EasyStrips are easy to use. Just a quick dip in your aquarium water, a 60- second wait, and you will find out your results. This amazing advancement gives you the most accurate results compared to other products that often indicate higher, inaccurate readings. Besides the most accurate results, Tetra 6 in 1 EasyStrips uses 3 pads that test for General water Hardness (GH), nitrates, nitrites, alkalinity (KH), and pH levels.


This product comes in the following sizes: 4 ct, 25 ct and 100 ct.
CHEMICAL PROPERTIES OF WATER
Tests for water quality in fresh and saltwater aquariums.
Nitrate is the byproduct of nitrifying bacteria in the biological filter breaking down ammonia and nitrite. Nitrate is used by aquatic plants and algae as a food source. High levels can lead to excessive algae growth. Levels should be kept below 40 ppm and should be tested weekly.

Nitrite is a waste product produced by bacteria in the biological filter as it breaks down ammonia. Nitrite is extremely harmful to fish and can result in severe fish loss. Levels should be kept below .5 ppm and should be tested weekly.

Hardness is the measure of calcium and magnesium in the water. Water hardness affects the fish’s ability to maintain correct balance between its internal body fluids and the external environment. Hardness below 50 ppm can affect pH, over 150 ppm can result in the formation of white mineral deposits on tanks and equipment. Note: the total hardness pad is not used for saltwater tank readings.

Total chlorine is the measure of free chlorine and chloramine combined. Chlorine and often chloramine are added to city water to destroy harmful bacteria and organisms in drinking water and can be deadly to your fish. It is very important that you test your tap water before adding it to your aquarium to ensure the safety of your fish.

Alkalinity (buffering capacity) determines the ability to maintain a constant pH in the aquarium. The ideal level for freshwater tanks is 120 - 300 ppm, for saltwater tanks 180 - 300 ppm.

pH is the measure of acidity or alkalinity in water. A pH reading of 7.0 is neutral, pH lower than 7.0 is acidic, pH higher than 7.0 is alkaline. Maintaining proper pH is one of the most important elements to keeping a successful aquarium. The correct pH helps to ensure healthy fish, encourages breeding, and allows plants to grow properly. Check pH levels once a week as many factors can cause pH changes which can cause stress to your fish. Note: buffering capacity should be at least 120 ppm for accurate pH reading.

Instructions for using Tetra EasyStrips™ 6-in-1 Aquarium Test Strips:
1. Remove one test strip from bottle and replace cap tightly.
2. Hold strip at end with no pads. Dip strip into aquarium water for one second.
3. Do not shake excess water from strip.
4. Hold strip level for 60 seconds. Compare test strip colors to scale on bottle.

IMPORTANT: Keep cap on bottle tightly between uses. Store at room temperature. Do not expose to moisture. Do not remove drying agent from bottle as test results may not be accurate over time.

KEEP OUT OF REACH OF CHILDREN
Refer to the bottom of enclosed bottle for lot number and use-by date.

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad color match I have used the Tetra 6 in 1 test strips for many years. With the recent change to the nitrate regent pad from white to brown/orange it is impossible to match up to the included color chart pink. I've tried several bottles and carefully checked expiration dates to no avail. I guess my only resort is to change brands.
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money I usually use API test kits in the bottle, but wanted something to more quickly be able to do a preliminary monitor on my 6 tanks. I ended up having to do the full test tube testing anyhow due to tetras inaccurate test strips.
Date published: 2017-12-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Changed the regeant, not the comparision chart! Just bought these mainly to test for nitrates. I searched online as to why the color I was getting was brown and not magenta pink like on the chart. I saw the answer here directly from Tetra that I was not seeing things, the brown was correct! That is crazy. How hard would have been to update the comparison chart? I have no idea what reading I am getting since there is nothing to compare it to. I am giving this 2 stars since the other readings seem accurate enough, but was tempted to do one star since the reason I bought this product does not work at all. I guess I'm back to the API strips, should have stayed with them to begin with I guess.
Date published: 2017-11-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so sure... these test strips don't seem to work so great for the first nitrate reading the color on my strip does not match anything they have on the bottle then I was told if I bought Tetra easy balance it would fixed the other problems I was having but that didn't seem to work either the test strips still read the same as before I put the easy balance in not trying to write a bad review just wanted to share my experience
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Quality control Used these strips successfully for 4 years. Recent purchase via Amazon, the nitrate pad is brown out of the bottle (color chart white for zero nitrates). Cannot tell between 20, 40 and 80 mg/dl nitrates. Bring the old, better performing product back!
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from poor accuracy, and no ammonia test??? ive used these and the colour spectrum is poor, (3 simultaneous strip test are different...) and what sort of "all in 1" kit doesnt include ammonia?? very expensive for something so poor, avoid!!
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's ALL in the chart For those who are far-sighted and didn't/can't read the print at the back and below the bottle just pull it back or cut it with a blade and it folds out or you can find this chart also on pdf file to download at: www.tetra-fish.com/~/.../Tetra/.../Test%20Kits/2013TestStripColors.ashx Now in my area I have a problem with hard water and too high ph (alkalinity) which this combo makes it perfect for me to check/monitor, in addition to when I add water I need to know the chlorine in that too. Glad there is a combo product like this and the price is not bad too. With knowledge comes responsibility: Only thing now I need to buy other chemicals to keep adjusting the water to a safe level.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Color Chart on label To counter the six reviewers that found it easier go the manufacturer's website to write a 1 star review and drive to the store to return the product than to read the instructions - the label is clearly protruding, indicating it is a pull back label (like many over the counter medicine instructions), and clearly states "Pull here to open label for more information and Color Charts". I am genuinely concerned for the future of humanity. The tests and charts have worked great with no issue.
Date published: 2015-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we needed! After several trips to Petsmart to test the aquarium water, we thought it might be easier to buy the strips and do it ourselves. Wow! Now we have more time to watch our fish and we know that they're in healthy water. We love it.
Date published: 2015-04-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No testing chart It might be true it's a good product, but I never got to find out because neither the plastic container nor the packaing had a colored chart as a guide to what the PH levels were. Totally useless,
Date published: 2014-06-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No test chart! These test strips could be great if they came with a chart...I imagine, some do and some dont perhaps as the company fills needs for chart they open the packaging and pull the chart out, and then sell the opened test strips to their own advantage...because I had no wrap around my bottle of strips. Useless!
Date published: 2014-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BRILLIANT product I am very very happy with this, I usually stressed over levels and had used other kits but nothing as simple as this. the color chart does come in the container you just have to peel the label back, and if in any case it doesn't for some odd reason, tetra representatives will e-mal you one. I have my tank finally in check and very very happy fish.
Date published: 2013-10-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from no comparison chart!! No comparison chart June 13, 2013 Size of tank: Less than 38 gallons Type of tank: Tropical How long have you owned an aquarium?: Less than 6 months I also bought the test strips and once I got home discovered that there was no comparison chart on the bottle like it says on the directions. These are completely useless and I will be taking them back. Do not buy them
Date published: 2013-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from simple but amazing This product was amazing for me. I don't understand how the people in the other reviews couldn't find the chart but its really easy. The chart is featured on the bottle the outside wrapper has a little sign that says pull here, and the chart is on a second page. The chart is easy to read and gives you good over-all test results for your tank. Over the last 10 to 12 years of having all different types of fish and fish tanks, like now to this day i have a koi pond, a goldfish tank, a chilid tank, a tropical tank, and a saltwater tank, and i can honestly say i have used all different kinds of strips to do a quick test of their water. This is the most universal brand that works the best. I also like the fact that consumers don't have to pay an arm and a leg for it. Its at your local stores.
Date published: 2013-06-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No comparison chart I also bought the test strips and once I got home discovered that there was no comparison chart on the bottle like it says on the directions. These are completely useless and I will be taking them back. Do not buy them
Date published: 2013-06-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 6-in-1 Test strips I purchased a combination package of a 25 pc ammonia test kit and a 25 pc 6-in-1 test kit. The ammonia test kit was fine because the chart is on the plastic package but there was no test color chart for the 6-in-1 test kit. This makes a very expensive test kit useless. Stan
Date published: 2012-11-22
  • y_2018, m_8, d_15, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_19542, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_tetrafish
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT